The Centenary Institute Lawrence Creative Prize

Play video

Stage: Competition Finished

Ian Frazer

Professor Ian Frazer was born in 1953 in Glasgow, Scotland, into an academic family. He studied medicine at Edinburgh University and trained as a renal physician and clinical immunologist. He received a BSc(Med) in 1974 and an MB ChB in 1977. In 1974, as part of his studies, Frazer spent three months at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research in Melbourne. In 1981 Frazer returned to the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute where he continued his clinical training and undertook studies in viral immunology and autoimmunity and became particularly interested in human papilloma viruses (HPV). In 1985 he took up a teaching position with the University of Queensland. When he moved to Brisbane he decided to continue his work with HPV, in particular HPV and cervical cancer. He was awarded a MD from the University of Melbourne in 1988. The work of Frazer with his colleague, the late molecular virologist Dr Jian Zhou, has led to the development of a vaccine which prevents infection with HPV and cervical cancer. Prof Frazer is currently CEO and Director of Research at the Translational Research Institute (TRI).

Marc Feldmann

Professor Sir Marc Feldmann is a pre-eminent immunologist at the University of Oxford where he is Head of the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology and leads the Cytokine and Cellular Biology section. Prof Sir Feldmann has authored over 600 published papers reflecting an overarching commitment to both the cellular aspects of inflammatory autoimmune biology messenger molecules, cytokines and therapeutic applications.

Michael Good

Professor Michael Good is a Research Leader, Institute for Glycomics, Griffith University. Professor Good has spent 25 years researching and developing a cure for malaria. His interests are in the field of immunity and immunopathogenesis to malaria and group A streptococcus/rheumatic fever, with particular relevance to the development of vaccines. Previously, he was Director of the Queensland Institute of Medical Research, and he is Chair of the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia, a past president of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes and past director of the Cooperative Research Centre for Vaccine Technology. In 2009, Professor Good won the Australian Museum CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science and in 2010 he was awarded the Australia Fellowship to continue his lifesaving work in combating malaria and streptococcus A.

Peter Leedman

Professor Peter Leedman completed medicine at The University of Western Australia (UWA), then trained in endocrinology at Royal Melbourne Hospital in the mid-1980s. He completed his PhD at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute in Melbourne with Len Harrison on autoimmune thyroid disease from 1987-1991. From 1991-1994 he was a Lucille P Markey Fellow with Bill Chin, a Howard Hughes Investigator in the Division of Genetics, Brigham and Women's hospital, Harvard Medical School in Boston where he worked on the molecular mechanisms of thyroid hormone action. He returned to Perth in 1994 as a Senior Lecturer in Medicine at UWA and became a Professor in 2003. Professor Leedman is an Endocrinologist, Head of the Laboratory for Cancer Medicine and Director of the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research.

Michael Parker

Professor Michael Parker is Deputy Director of St. Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research in Melbourne where he is heads its Structural Biology Laboratory and the ACRF Rational Drug Discovery Centre. He is an NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow and a Professorial Fellow at the Bio21 Institute, Melbourne University. He has published almost 300 papers and his work has been recognised with numerous awards including the 1999 Gottschalk Medal of the Australian Academy of Science, a 2006 Federation Fellowship from the Australian Research Council, the 2011 Lemberg Medal of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the 2011 Ramaciotti Medal for Excellence in Biomedical Research and the 2012 Federation of Asian and Oceanian Biochemists and Molecular Biologists Award for Research Excellence. He was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 2010.

Sussan Nourshargh

Sussan Nourshargh is Professor of Microvascular Pharmacology and Head of the Centre for Microvascular Research at Barts and the London School of Medicine. Her work has aimed to unravel the mechanisms of white blood cell trafficking into sites of inflammation. She provided the first in vivo evidence for the ability of different endothelial cell junctional molecules to act in sequence and in a stimulus specific.

Jane Visvader

Professor Jane Visvader is a scientist specialising in breast cancer research who works for the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute in Melbourne, Australia. She is the joint head of the Breast Cancer Laboratory with Professor Geoff Lindeman. In 2008, Jane Visvader was a joint recipient of the GlaxoSmithKline Award for Research Excellence for outstanding contribution to Breast Cancer research. Professor Visvader was made a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 2012. Professor Visvader's most recent award is the 2014 Royal Society of Victoria Research Medal for Scientific Excellence in Biomedical & Health Sciences.

 Funding Available



Many of our senior researchers are specialist clinicians at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and lecturers at the University of Sydney. Their direct, personal experience with patients inspires their work to improve and save lives. Our close ties with the University and Hospital mean our scientists are not isolated from the people who are affected by the major diseases we are working to overcome. ...